Sometime back in June, I brought in banana crumb muffins to work as a morning pick-me-up. The next week, I brought in cranberry orange muffins and thus Muffin Mondays were born. That weekend, I purchased what I now refer to as the muffin bible and was a promptly goner. This book is all sorts of incredible and the best part is that I no longer have to agonize about what muffin I’ll bring to work each week (because these are the things that keep me up at night) since I’m planning on baking my way through all 750.

I’ve been trying to cram in as many summery flavors as possible now that it’s August, so I opted for lavender lemon muffins this week.

Lavender Lemon Muffins

Lavender lemon muffins

Lavender Lemon Muffins (8 of 750)

From 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury

Makes 12 muffins (or 37 mini muffins)

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried lavender (available at ethnic grocery stores)
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In food processor, process sugar, lemon zest, and lavender until lavender is finely chopped. (Note: pulse longer for a stronger lavender flavor.) Transfer 2 tbsp to a small bowl and set aside. (This will seem like it’s not enough, but I was able to cover all 37 mini muffins with about a teaspoon left over.)
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together remaining lavender mixture, egg, buttermilk, and oil until well blended. (I strained this to remove any big pieces of lavender.)
  4. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 17 to 21 minutes or until tops are light golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in pan on a wire rack for 3 minutes, then transfer to the rack.
  7. Brush warm muffin tops with butter and sprinkle with reserved lavender mixture. Let cool. (I stored these without the sugar topping overnight in airtight containers. They stayed moist the next day and could have probably held the sugar topping without the butter. I would recommend you store these without the topping and only apply it the day of.)

These muffins were absolutely delightful. They were incredibly light, and the lavender gave it a really delicate flavor. Next time, I would try swapping out the olive oil with either canola or a combination of both – the olive oil was a bit too strong for my tastes. I also love lemon, so I would add in some lemon juice into the batter and increase the amount of zest.

Overall, they were a huge hit at the office. According to a coworker: “they taste like happiness and I want to make out with them.”

Lavender lemon muffin tops

Lovely little domed tops

Muffins without topping

Before getting their sugar coating

Lavender lemon muffins

Little darlings

