When it comes to baking, I tend to go a little overboard. I obsessively hoard and organize recipes (in Springpad, which is a lifesaver and even better than Evernote – that’s right I said it), usually for things I know I will never get around to making, but logic is not a hoarder’s strength, so I have recipes for things like croquembouche and ten-layer wedding cakes, just in case!, because you never know when someone’s going to ask you to bake a wedding cake on the fly, you know?

There is, however, one recipe that keeps me up at night. It’s the green light to my Gatsby, the white whale to my Captain Ahab, the Joker to my Batman, the one that got away.

The story (tragedy, more like it) is this: I made a cranberry-pear galette for Thanksgiving last year and ended up with leftover cranberry filling. Google found me an easy recipe for muffins and I made the fatal rookie mistake of not bookmarking the site.

The muffins were great at room temperature, but after 10 minutes in a toaster oven, they were perfection. They’re my favorite cranberry muffin, and I have no idea how to make them.

I’ve been to the edge of Google and back, finding along the way that page 36 of the search results is not a place you ever want to be. I’ve tried to replicate the recipe – oh, have I tried – and I’ve scoured my internet history, all to no avail.

A rational, less obsessive person would probably move on and find a new favorite recipe, but I am neither of those things, so I will continue to google and test recipes until these muffins are back in my hand and stomach.

Ultimately, this has been a long-winded public service announcement. Bookmarks are your friend! Use them often, lest you find yourself the star of a tragic tale like mine.

Leftover Cranberry Muffins

This picture is all I have left of these muffins

