Can we talk about butter? And how amazing and beautiful and miraculous it is? Because it is all of those things and more. I’ve been interested in homemade butter since elementary school, when I read the Little House on the Prairie books, but I always figured it was something you could only do with a butter churn. Thank you, Google, for showing me that that is not the case.

Can we also talk about Mason jars? And how useful they are? I know they’ve reached a saturation point by now, but they really do live up to the hype. They’re great for canning and making single serving oatmeal, cake, and also, apparently, butter.

Basically, what you do is pour heavy cream into a jar and shake the ever loving shit out of it. It’s a great arm workout since it’s essentially the concept behind the Shake Weight, except instead of just looking stupid and working out your arms, you look stupid and tone your arms AND get butter out of it. Victory: you.

Homemade Butter

Makes 1 cup

  • 1  pint heavy cream
  • 1 Mason jar
  1. Fill jar halfway with cream.
  2. Shake until cream separates into a ball, anywhere between 5 and 15 minutes, depending on how Hulk-like your strength is. Pour buttercream into a separate jar and store in fridge.
  3. Scoop the butter out onto plastic wrap. Roll into a log and cover with foil.
  4. Store in fridge until firm.
Mason Jar Butter

Ta-da!

Mason Jar Butter

Guaranteed to impress your friends

I’ve seen some recipes that say you should wash the butter, but I didn’t do that and it turned out fine. Better than fine. I’ve never wanted to eat just butter before, but I was definitely tempted with this stuff (okay, who am I kidding, I totally did eat it by straight).

You’ll notice that one pint only yields one cup of butter, so in this case, it’s actually not cheaper to go homemade. But for special occasions, I’ll definitely hit up the farmer’s market and get some fresh cream and make a nice fancy butter.

I haven’t tried baking with it yet, but that’s next on my to-do list.

