So I was at Broadway Panhandler a while ago and saw The Cherry Chomper. It’s so adorable and I considered buying it, but then I thought, when am I ever going to pit cherries, right, right?! Ha ha, WRONG.

My kitchen looked like a crime scene, or perhaps Dexter’s lab, after all this pitting. No, not that Dexter, this Dexter. These muffins were super tasty and the chopped cherries added the perfect burst of flavor, so I should probably just give in and get that Cherry Chomper after all.

And I guess I forgot to take a picture of these, probably because I was too busy cleaning cherry entrails out from underneath my fingernails.

Cherry Muffins with Almond Crunch Topping (6 of 750)

Originally made 7/22/12

From 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury

Makes 12 muffins (43 minis)

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup slivered almonds, chopped
  • 2 tbsp turbinado sugar

Muffins:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped cherries
  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. To make the topping: in a small bowl, combine almonds and turbinado sugar. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together brown sugar, eggs, buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and almond extract until well blended.
  5. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended. Gently fold in cherries.
  6. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle with topping.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 16 to 21 minutes or until tops are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes, then transfer to the rack to cool.
