I’m one of those weirdos who doesn’t drink coffee. I’m impervious to the effects of caffeine and the taste is unbearable to me (the smell, though, I am addicted to), so why bother? I do own a French press, though. I use it to make hash browns.

These marshmallows made me wish I drank coffee though. A mocha marshmallow in a steaming cup of coffee? Suddenly Monday doesn’t seem so bad.

Mocha Marshmallows

Who says you can’t have marshmallows for breakfast?

Mocha Marshmallows

From Marshmallow Madness by Shauna Sever

Makes about 2 dozen 1 1/2-inch mallows (I doubled the recipe and got 50 1×1″ squares)

The Bloom:

  • 5 tsp unflavored powdered gelatin
  • 1/2 cup cold coffee

The Chocolate Syrup:

  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp instant espresso powder (or instant coffee if you can’t find espresso)
  • 1/4 cup hot coffee
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup

The Sugar Syrup:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp salt

The Mallowing:

  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/8 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn or potato starch
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Optional: 1 tsp finely ground instant espresso or coffee powder
  1. Lightly coat a baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. Whisk together the gelatin and cold coffee in a small bowl. Let it soften for 5 minutes.
  3. Make the chocolate syrup: in a small bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, espresso powder, and hot coffee until smooth. Whisk in the corn syrup and set aside.
  4. Stir together the sugar, remaining 1/4 cup corn syrup, water, and salt in a medium saucepan over high heat. Boil, stirring occasionally, until it hits 248F to 250F. Microwave the gelatin on high until completely melted, about 30 seconds. Pour it into the chocolate syrup. Set your mixer to low and keep it running.
  5. When the syrup reaches 248F to 250F, slowly pour it into the mixer bowl. Increase to medium-high and beat for 5 more minutes. Increase to the highest setting and beat for 3 to 5 minutes more, adding vanilla in the last minute. The finished marshmallow will be tripled in volume. (Note, because of the addition of the chocolate syrup adds more liquid, you’ll need to beat the mallow a bit longer. Just keep beating it until the mixture gets glossy with soft peaks.)
  6. Pour it into the prepared pan, using an offset spatula to smooth it into the corners. Sift coating evenly over top. Let set for about 6 hours in a cool, dry place.
  7. Use a knife to loosen the marshmallow from the edges of the pan. Invert the slab onto a coating-dusted work surface and dust with more coating. Cut it into pieces and dip the sticky edges in more coating, patting off the excess.

These marshmallows are some kind of magical. They start out a really pale tan color, but after they’ve completely set, they turn a deep, rich brown. I don’t understand how or why that happens, but it’s amazing and bewildering and I quite like it. I got impatient and didn’t beat the mallows for quite long enough and ended up with a batter that was more runny than it should have been. Ultimately, that just made it easier to pour into the pan and the finished marshmallows were perfectly springy and fluffy, so thankfully, no harm no foul.

I’ve run into this issue with both of my previous marshmallows, and this time was no different – the marshmallow keeps absorbing the coating. I’ve tried cutting back the liquid, letting them set at room temperature v. in the fridge, but to no avail. I’ll have to dig deeper into this one (WE NEED TO GO DEEPER – name that movie!) and see what the deal is. I actually prefer them without the coating, even though they’re a bit stickier. The coating reminds me of the inside of medical gloves and makes me think of surgery, which is not what I want to be thinking of when I’m eating delicious marshmallows. But I digress.

In short, I consider these the perfect breakfast marshmallow – yes, that is a thing, I just made it a thing. The unsweetened cocoa and espresso powder keep the marshmallow from being too sweet, so it’s totally breakfast-appropriate without feeling like you just ate a pound of sugar. And it absolutely melts in your mouth, which means it’ll never hit your thighs, because that’s how that works.

Mocha Mallows

The mallow, the bloom, and the chocolate syrup

Mocha Marshmallows

Look at that color!

Mocha Mallows

With the flash, you can really see how airy they are

Mocha Mallows

Can you tell marshmallows are my new favorite thing?

