To say that I am indecisive would be an incredible understatement. I typically go through four outfits in the morning before I decide on what I want to wear (it’s usually the one I picked out first) and shopping is an all-day marathon. I spend as much time in the baking aisle poring over different types of flour as I do the cookbook aisle of a bookstore. It gets exponentially worse when it comes to baking. If I had spent half as much time studying when I was in college as I did researching recipes and planning menus, I would have graduated in two years with a 4.0.

This morning, my indecision reared its ugly head over a bag of almost black, perfect for baking bananas. Which is how I ended up with mini muffins, donuts, and loaves for breakfast. Because why bake just one thing when you can bake three tiny things?

Banana Bread Three Ways

Mini mini banana muffins, mini donuts, and mini loaves

Cinnamon Sugar Banana Bread

Adapted from Baking Illustrated

Makes 2 5-inch loaves, 12 mini donuts, and 6 tiny muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed well (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/4 plain yogurt (I use Chobani Greek yogurt)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter or margarine, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar + 2 tsp cinnamon for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 375F. Grease pans and set aside.
  2. Whisk together flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt and set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/3 cup granulated sugar with cinnamon and set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, mash the bananas until it has a thick, batter-like consistency. Don’t overdo the mashing – some banana chunks are good. Mix in the beaten eggs, yogurt, melted butter, and vanilla. Stir until completely combined. Batter will be thick and a pale yellow color.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined and there are no pockets of dry flour.
  5. Fill the pans halfway. Sprinkle generously with cinnamon sugar, then cover with the rest of the batter. Sprinkle tops of loaves with remaining cinnamon sugar.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool in pans for 5 minutes and then store in airtight container.

This is my absolute favorite banana bread recipe. Not counting the cinnamon sugar layer in the middle and on top (which adds a hint of warmth and a delicious crunch), this is banana bread at it’s purest. No nuts, no chocolate, nothing here but bananas.

It tastes the way a hug feels – warm and cozy and soft. Eating these darlings fresh out of the oven on a crisp, sunny, almost-fall morning – it just feels so right.

Banana Bread Batter

Refrain from eating the batter if you can

Tiny Muffin

A seriously mini muffin

Banana Donuts

Smooth on one side (on my favorite plate), cinnamon and sugary crumble on the other

Cinnamon Sugar Topping

Baked cinnamon and sugar turn into a crunchy, crumbly topping

Mini Banana Loaf

There’s nothing like banana bread in the morning

