I baked these cookies in a toaster oven. At work. In batches of five, so it took me a good two and a half hours. I didn’t have an oven mitt, so I used a t-shirt. Am I insane? Possibly.

They turned out so well I’m actually considering coming in to work at 7 in the morning so we can have fresh-baked muffins for Muffin Mondays. Am I insane? Most definitely.

Oatmeal Cookies

Just a typical day at the office

Oatmeal Walnut Raisin Cookies

Adapted from Baking Illustrated

Makes 18 large cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 16 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Whisk the flour, baking powder, salt, and spices together in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. Beat butter and sugars at medium speed until light and fluffy. Add eggs and mix until combined.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Stir in oats, walnuts, and raisins until just incorporated. Refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour.
  5. Scoop onto cookie sheet and bake until cookies are just beginning to brown, about 20 minutes. Cool cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a wide metal spatula. Store in airtight containers.

This is my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe. I made these for a cookie throwdown at work (I’m realizing now that I bring in a ridiculous amount of baked goods to work despite not working in the culinary field) and won, I’ve stuck with this recipe ever since.

A word of advice about baking cookies (or any baked good) in a toaster oven – watch them like a hawk. Literally, seconds could mean the difference between lightly golden cookies and inedible black discs.

Oatmeal Cookie Dough

Loaded with good stuff

Oatmeal Cookie

Thank god for toaster ovens

