It’s the last week of Marshmallow Madness, and we’ve got a pretty great match-up: margarita and cookies ‘n cream.

Marshmallow madness round 4

Margarita vs. cookies ‘n cream

Before I share the recipe for the margarita marshmallows with you, I want to preface it with a disclaimer that these were a complete and utter nightmare. I made five batches. FIVE. Four of them failed. I still had problems with the sugar syrup on my fifth batch, but they did set up into marshmallows, so I consider that a success. A half-success. I don’t know if I was just having a really off day or if there’s something wrong with the recipe, but just be extra careful with this one. And if you do make them perfectly on the first try, please let me know your secrets.

As if the four failed batches weren’t enough, I also have  seven bandaids covering four of my fingers thanks to these mallows. How is it that, when making a soft and fluffy candy, my hands end up covered in cuts and scrapes and look like I’ve shoved them in a bowl of razors? What happened is this – every time I made these marshmallows, the sugar would seize up the instant I poured it into the gelatin. I tried different temperatures, I added water to the syrup, but it still happened every time. When the sugar seizes up, you end up with a mass of soft-but-starting-to-harden sugar stuck to your whisk. And if you should then wash your whisk to try to remove the sugar, you’ll find that when water meets 240 degree sugar, the once soft mass instantly hardens. You can imagine how much fun it was for me to try to wash the whisk. Breaking off pieces of razor sharp sugar with my bare hands… And then of course, I was working with lime juice, so that made my open wounds feel even better.

Basically, be careful with sugar syrup. Be so careful, but especially in these marshmallows. And if it does crystallize, don’t be like me and stick your hands all up in it. Or if you do, invest in some chainmail gloves or something.

Margarita Marshmallows

From Marshmallow Madness

The Bloom

  • 5 tsp unflavored powdered gelatin
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 tbsp tequila (80 proof)
  • 1/4 cup cold water

The Syrup

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup, divided
  • 2 tbsp tequila
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  1. Lightly coat an 8×8 inch square baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Whisk together the lime juice, tequila, and water in a small bowl. Let it soften for 10 minutes.
  3. Stir together the sugar, 1/4 cup of the corn syrup, tequila, and salt in a medium saucepan over high heat. Boil until the temperature reaches 240F.
  4. Meanwhile, microwave  the gelatin on high until completely melted or heat over a water bath. Pour the remaining 1/4 cup of the corn syrup into the bowl and whisk together on low.
  5. When the syrup reaches 240F, slowly pour it into the mixing bowl. Increase the speed to medium and beat for 5 minutes. Increase the speed to medium-high and beat for another 5 minutes. The marshmallow has been whipped enough when it droops slightly off the whisk but still holds its shape.
  6. Pour marshmallow into prepared pan and smooth corners with an offset spatula. Let set in a cool, dry place for 6 hours.
  7. Loosen the marshmallow from the pan with a knife and cut into pieces. Dip in sanding sugar and store in airtight container.
Margarita marshmallows

Margarita marshmallows

So after all that work, how did they taste? They were good, really good. The tequila wasn’t overpowering and there was a good balance with the lime. I won’t be making these again anytime soon (mainly because my hands aren’t completely functional yet) and I don’t know if I can ever look at tequila the same way again, but they were still good enough that I can maybe kind of justify the four failed batches and cut up hands.

On the other hand (ha, hand), these cookies ‘n cream marshmallows were so easy to whip up, I almost cried in relief. I’m not crazy about Oreos by themselves, but I love using them as an ingredient, and sprinkled through these airy vanilla marshmallows, they really get a chance to shine.

Cookies ‘n Cream Marshmallows

From Marshmallow Madness

The Mallowing

  1. Prepare a batch of Vanilla Marshmallows. Fold 1/3 cup crushed Oreo cookies (I used the birthday cake ones) into the beaten marshmallow batter.
  2. Pour marshmallow into prepared pan and smooth corners with an offset spatula. Let set in a cool, dry place for 6 hours.
  3. Loosen the marshmallow from the pan with a knife and cut into pieces. Dip in sanding sugar and store in airtight container.
Chopped up Oreos

Just killing some Oreos

Cookies 'n cream marshmallows

Cookies ‘n cream marshmallows

I’ve always loved cookies ‘n cream, and these marshmallows take it to a whole new level. The airy, pillow-soft vanilla marshmallow with bits of Oreo sprinkled in there – incredible. You don’t need many Oreos – I chopped up 3 cookies into chunks and it looked like a lot, but ended up being the perfect amount. These were my favorite of the two, and were also the winner at the office.

And that’s the end of Marshmallow Madness! Maybe I’ll bring the four winners back sometime for a final showdown. And maybe next time, I’ll have more luck with the margarita ones…

It’s been a great month, but I’m looking forward to the return of Muffin Mondays. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve loved making the marshmallows – experimenting with all sorts of flavors and not having to turn on my oven – but they’re so temperamental, what with the sugar syrup and the mess. I can’t wait to go back to muffins and leave my candy thermometer in a drawer for once.

