I need to get something off my chest. Chocolate cookies aren’t my favorite. When a craving hits, I’m more likely to buy a chocolate bar than bake a batch of cookies, mainly because I’m impatient and cannot delay gratification for chocolate.

If I’m being completely honest though, the real reason I rarely bake them is because most recipes call for melted chocolate in the batter, which means I have to get a separate bowl to melt the chocolate, and then, invariably, half of the chocolate is going to get stuck and caked onto the bowl, and then I have to figure out how to get rid of the chocolate without clogging my drain and it becomes one big mess. I’m really just lazy, okay?

After googling high and low for a recipe without melted chocolate and coming up empty, I decided to make my own recipe. Because I do what I want and this is a free country and ‘MURICA, F YEAH. That escalated quickly.

Chocolate cookie

These cookies also escalated quickly – they started out with just peanut butter chips, and then I found toffee and half a bag of chocolate chips that were just begging to be included and I am nothing if not an equal opportunity baker

Double Chocolate Cookies with Peanut Butter Chips and Toffee Bits

Makes 18 large cookies

  • 1 3/4 cups plus 2 tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12 tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
  • 1 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits
  • Kosher salt for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 325F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Whisk the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. With a wooden spoon, mix together the melted butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Mixture should be thick and the butter should be completely incorporated. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Stir in the chips.
  5. Roll cookies into balls and place on the prepared baking sheets, spacing them 1 inch apart. Sprinkle tops with kosher salt.
  6. Bake until the cookies are light golden brown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets from front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time.
  7. Cool cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a wide metal spatula.
  8. Store in airtight containers.

Because there’s no melted chocolate, these aren’t a fudgy, dense chocolate cookie, but rather a chunky, crumbly cookie. The chocolate comes through – especially with the chocolate chips – but not so heavily that it tastes like a brownie. The peanut butter chips and toffee round things out nicely, adding some flavors that pair really well with the chocolate and giving the cookies some texture. I’ve said this before but it bears repeating – the extra hit of salt on top really brings it home.

Now that's a cookie dough

Now that’s a cookie dough

It’s a good every day cookie, and the next time I get a chocolate craving, I won’t go buy a chocolate bar – I’ll make these cookies instead.

Chocolate cookies

Chocolate cookies

