Every time I go grocery shopping and see expensive granola, I die a little inside. I mean, no matter what fancy extras you add to it, it’s still just oats! Luckily, homemade granola is insanely easy to make, and this recipe in particular is fast becoming one of my favorites.

I’ll never buy overpriced granola from the store again!

Breakfast

A bunch of good things separately become a great thing when combined

Olive Oil Granola

Adapted from The New York Times

  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 3/4 cup chopped nuts (peanuts, almonds, cashews)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cups pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 300F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients and mix together.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together maple syrup, olive oil, and sugar until well combined. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until incorporated.
  4. Spread onto a sheet pan and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until golden brown.
  5. Let cool and store in airtight container.

This stuff is AMAZING. It’s crunchy and chewy, with just the right amount of sweetness, and the faintest hint of salt to balance it out. I honestly had to hide the container so I didn’t eat all of it in one afternoon.

I’ve made some granola recipes in the past where, once I baked it, everything stayed separate so I never got any of those great, crunchy chunks. Not this recipe. The granola bakes up into one nice, solid sheet, so you can break it up into chunks or crumble it into pieces.

Either way, it’s great as a snack or spooned over some Greek yogurt. Lately, I love mixing it in with a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios with almond milk. Throw in a green smoothie, and you’ve got the kind of breakfast that will make you feel invincible.

Granola

Prepare to become obsessed with this granola

Breakfast of champions!

