Sometimes, you want a cocktail for breakfast but not the ensuing shame that comes with consuming alcohol first thing in the morning – that’s when you whip up a batch of these muffins. I actually forgot to put rum in these – don’t make the same mistake I made.

I can practically taste the coconut from here

Pina Colada Muffins (48 of 750)

Adapted from  750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury
Makes 30 muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 /4  cup liquid honey
  • 1 tbsp finely grated lime zest
  • 1 cup chopped dried pineapple
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut, divided
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together brown sugar, eggs, bananas, butter, honey, and lime zest until well blended.
  4. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended. Gently fold in pineapple and coconut.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle with remaining coconut and gently press into batter.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until tops are firm at the center and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes, then transfer to the rack to cool.

Before we get to these muffins, let’s talk about bananas. Frozen bananas.

A couple weeks ago, I bought two bags of bananas with the intention of making banana bread. Of course, that didn’t happen, so a few days later, I had just over a dozen bananas that were on the cusp of being too ripe. I didn’t know what else to do with them and didn’t want to waste them, so I threw them in the freezer, still in the peel and all. This morning, when I decided I wanted to make these muffins, I grabbed two frozen bananas, narrowly avoiding being attached by their brethren (note to self: a freezer full of frozen bananas will probably result in bruises eventually), and set them in the sink to defrost. By the time I started making the muffins, they had defrosted perfectly and had the most incredible smell of sweet, ripe bananas, even stronger than fresh ones.

That’s my long-winded way of saying that you should try freezing bananas for baking. The freezer magically makes them sweeter and they gave these muffins a faint caramel undertone. I can’t wait to make banana bread with these!

Banana tangent aside, these muffins look and taste so tropical it’s like a vacation in a bite. The coconut and pineapple are perfect together, of course, but the addition of coconut on top lets you get that great toasted flavor.

Forget cocktails, I’d love a plate full of these at the beach.

The muffin batter will be lighter or darker depending on what type of brown sugar you use – I used dark brown

Pina colada muffins

