Aaaand Muffin Mondays are back!

So I took a little break. Quit my job, took a week off and did absolutely nothing (which was the greatest thing ever), and then started a new job – you know, life stuff. I actually don’t understand what happened here and how it’s been a month since my last post – I swear it was just October and I was planning pumpkin spiced everything (yes, I am one of those people) and now it’s mid-November and peppermint is everywhere. I can’t keep up!!

Instead of going with a seasonal flavor for this week’s muffin, I went with something that’s perfect for breakfast – espresso and chocolate! And now I’m going to go stuff my face with these and pretend like the year isn’t almost over.

Mocha muffins

Mocha Muffins (58 of 750)

From 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury
Makes 48 mini-muffins

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 tbsp espresso powder
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, sugars, espresso powder, and melted butter until well blended. Whisk in buttermilk until blended.
  4. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended. Gently fold in chocolate chips.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until tops are firm at the center and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Now that the weather’s cold, I love breakfast even more. It’s hard to get through the day without something substantial in the morning and for me, that’s carbs. There’s nothing better than 1 or 12 mini muffins to get you ready to face the world on a cold November morning, and these fit the bill perfectly.

The espresso gives the muffins a rich warmth and the subtle flavor of coffee without the actual taste of it. The cinnamon is the perfect match to the espresso – if you’re thinking about omitting it, don’t! It gives the muffins a little something extra without being overly spicy. The chocolate is just a little extra indulgence. Even if you’re not making mini muffins, I would recommend using mini chocolate chips – they’re a lot smaller, so you get a more even distribution of chocolate in each bite. That sounds really smart and scientific. Which is exactly how breakfast should make you feel! Mission accomplished.

Perfect muffins tops

I’m so used to making mini muffins that normal sized ones always seem monstrous in comparison

