The really awesome thing about getting older is realizing how pathetically little I know about the world. Specifically food. Apparently there are different types of persimmons and of course, the kind that I bought is the kind that is notorious for being really bitter and astringent when they’re not fully ripe. The more you know!

Cardamom Persimmon Scones

Adapted from Happy Yolks
Makes 20 scones

  • 3 cups persimmons, chopped
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 3 tsp sugar
  • 4 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup  unsalted butter, very cold
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  1. Preheat the oven to 400F. In a medium saucepan over high heat, melt 2 teaspoons of butter with vanilla and sugar, add chopped persimmons. Reduce heat and stir for 5-10 minutes until softened. Set aside.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl. Add sugar, salt, and stir together. Cut the butter in the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter.
  3. Add the milk, then the persimmons. Mix lightly with a wooden spoon until the dough holds together, adding buttermilk or the reserved persimmon liquid to the dough as needed.
  4. Dust a piece of parchment paper with flour and turn out the dough. Pat the dough into a rectangle (if making round scones, er, hockey pucks like mine) or into two circles, about 1-2″ thick. Using a round cutter, press out scones and lay on a baking sheet with parchment paper making sure to leave at least 1″ of space between each scone. Sprinkle raw sugar over the tops, generously, and bake for 25-35 minutes until just slightly browned.

Let’s talk about persimmons. When I was a kid, my favorite way to eat them was actually frozen. My dad would buy the smaller, flatter Fuyu persimmons and throw them in the freezer until they were solid, and then cut them into wedges and we’d eat them like candy. I still love eating them this way, but it just recently occurred to me that if they’re good raw, then they must be even better in baked goods! Better late than never.

The tricky thing about persimmons, which I learned the hard way, is figuring out which type to use. The Fuyu ones are my favorite because they’re always sweet, but the Hachiya ones are just so pretty that I’m always drawn to them, even though I know the encounter will just end with puckered lips and a bitter taste in my mouth. Apparently Hachiya persimmons are only palatable when they’re very ripe, which would probably make them too mushy for this recipe, so I would stick with the Fuyu  kind for these scones. Of course, it’s entirely possible that all the Hachiya persimmons I’ve had have just been from a funky crop or something, so really, buy whatever kind you like, as long as they’re firm enough to stand up to some light sautee action. Cooking the fruit in butter and sugar is a really crucial step that enhances their flavor and makes them tender. Also, your kitchen will smell incredible, and really, isn’t that like 40% of the reason why we cook anyways?

It’s times like these when I wonder why I don’t make scones more often. They’re so easy to pull together and they freeze beautifully, which means you can have warm, flaky scones whenever you want! And you can eat five of them at once if you feel like it! Being an adult rocks, you guys. I can totally handle taxes and bills and stress when I’m stuffing my face with a half dozen of these beauties. That’s a lie, I can’t actually handle them any better, but I can forget about them for a few minutes! Blissful ignorance is my preferred state to live in.

“Forget about your worries”, they whisper

And I’ll reply “if you say so!”

