When I was a kid, one of the things I was obsessed with clouds. I was always fascinated by how fluffy and soft they looked and my favorite day in elementary school was the day we learned all the different types of clouds – cumulus, nimbus, what was the other one, romulus? Oh wait, that’s from Star Trek.

Every time we took a family road trip, I would stare out the window and look up at those white puffs and think about how delicious they must taste. I was really into eating things that shouldn’t be eaten; in fact, I once ate grass in second grade on a dare. Sadly, since clouds were so far out of my reach, I ended up turning to the closest substitutes – whipped cream and cotton candy, which contributed to the half-dozen cavities I had growing up.

Vegan mango muffins

Vegan Mango Muffins (65 of 750)

Adapted from 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury
Makes 34 mini-muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups soy yogurt (2 6-oz yogurt cups)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup diced firm-ripe mango
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together sugar, yogurt, oil, and applesauce until well blended.
  4. Add the yogurt mixture to the flour mixture and stir until blended. Gently fold in diced mangoes. Let batter rest for 15 minutes.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin tins.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until tops are firm at the center and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

The reason I bring up clouds is because these muffins are right up there with whipped cream and cotton candy in terms of texture. They’re springy and fluffy and puffy and airy and every other synonym there is for cloud-like. They’re a dream, and I don’t use that term lightly. The original recipe actually said 1 1/2 cup of diced mangoes, but I only used 3/4 of a cup, and I would definitely recommend the smaller amount. The fruit adds moisture to the batter, and too much will probably weigh them down and make them gummy. I truly adore mangoes, but in this case, less is more.

My other favorite thing about this muffin is the cardamom and ginger – they’re very faint, but those spicy notes in the background are really incredible with the bright juiciness of the mango. And after last week’s brutal cold, these are the perfect muffin to brighten up your day. It’s like a breakfast treasure hunt, a journey through a fluffy, barely spicy desert to discover bright little jewels of fruit.

In the dead of winter, these little pieces of mango feels like bursts of sunshine

Letting the batter rest ensures that the muffins are airy and puffy

Good morning sunshine

