So January 27th is National Chocolate Cake Day, which is wonderful, if a bit unnecessary. Every day is a chocolate cake day! That said, I’ll never pass up the excuse to incorporate more chocolate into my diet, so I’m glad we have a special day to celebrate.

It takes about 5 minutes, tops, to whip these up

Vegan Chocolate Cake

From Instructables
Makes 2 5×2-inch loaves

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp distilled white or apple cider vinegar
  • Mini chocolate chips for sprinkling
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Mix together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add in water, oil, and vinegar and mix until blended. Sprinkle mini chocolate chips over the top.
  4. Divide between two mini loaf pans and bake for 20-30 minutes until tops are puffy and slightly cracked.

I made the rookie mistake of not making a separate little mini muffin for taste testing purposes, so I have no idea how these taste. But they certainly look perfect – that puffy, domed top is the sign of a great loaf, and these baked up beautifully. From what I could feel, the crumb is tender and the texture is soft and fluffy. Looks like I’ll have to whip up another batch to have a proper taste…

Chocolate cake

