To me, corn muffins are the chocolate chip cookie of muffins. They’re classic, but there are so many different ways to add flavors, so I end up bookmarking every new recipe I can find. This recipe in particular caught my eye, because it combines two of my favorite flavors – lemon and thyme. The result is a corn muffin that’s anything but ordinary.

Lemon Thyme Corn Muffins (67 of 750)

Adapted from 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury
Makes 48 mini-muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lemon zest
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, thyme, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs until well blended. Whisk in milk, oil, and lemon zest until blended.
  4. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin tins.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until tops are firm at the center and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

When I took my first bite of one of these muffins, I had a classic foodie moment – my eyes popped wide open and I let out an audible mmm! That’s how good these are. The flavor isn’t overwhelming, but it’s strong enough to really make an impact. From that first bite, you get the coarse texture of the cornmeal, and then the bright tangy flavor from the lemon, combined with the savory earthiness from the thyme. There’s enough sugar for them to taste sweet, but not so much that they taste like dessert. What I’m trying to say is, the flavors are impeccably, perfectly balanced in these.

These muffins might not be a classic corn muffin – they’re more like the kind you might get at a trendy bakery or something – but they’re a delicious spin on an old favorite. And if I’m being completely honest, I might actually like these better.

