Have you ever seen a more boring-looking muffin? Like, what is this shit supposed to be – cornmeal, vanilla, flavorless?? But guess what, you better check that attitude at the door because these muffins are beautiful. On the inside. Which is where it counts.

Passion Fruit Muffins (69 of 750)

Adapted from 750 Best Muffin Recipes by Camilla Saulsbury
Makes 36 mini-muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 oz white chocolate, melted
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup passion fruit pulp
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs, white chocolate, and butter until well blended. Whisk in milk, passion fruit pulp, and lime zest until blended.
  4. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just blended.
  5. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin tins.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until tops are firm at the center and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

To be completely honest, I was pretty dubious when I read the recipe. Melted white chocolate, in the batter? I was sure it would seize and clump up and turn into an inedible mess, but I decided to still follow the recipe blindly because sometimes (rarely) I am obedient like that. And what a recipe. Let me tell you, that Camilla Saulsbury sure knows what she’s talking about.

These muffins are the kind of muffins I want to eat for the rest of my life. They’re so dainty and make me feel incredibly elegant and refined even as I’m screaming expletives while making a mess in the kitchen. The passion fruit flavor is surprisingly noticeable, considering there’s only a quarter cup, and that little hint of brightness from the limes really accentuates the exotic flavors. White chocolate is usually a pretty contentious subject among foodies, but the richness is really downplayed in these muffins since they’re directly in the batter and it’s a nice foil (yeah, I snuck a literary term in there cause that’s how I roll) against the fruity flavors. The original recipe had a glaze, but I left it out. I know we all call muffins naked cupcakes, but sometimes I like my muffins more delicately flavored instead of busting through my flavor wall like the Kool-Aid Man. 

